Intelligence

brain

Intelligence – a very general mental capability that, among other things, involves the ability to reason, plan, solve problems, think abstractly, comprehend complex ideas, learn quickly and learn from experience. It is not merely book learning, a narrow academic skill, or test-taking smarts. Rather, it reflects a broader and deeper capability for comprehending our surroundings—”catching on”, “making sense” of things, or “figuring out” what to do. (Mainstream Science on Intelligence)

Some Philosophers say that intelligence is inherited (nature). Some people inherited their intelligences from the family and we can see evidences of this from our surroundings. We see/ hear families where they are all in the honor roll, excelling academically. There are also families excelling in music, sports, politics and others.

Some Philosophers also say that intelligences can be nurtured. In one of the open forum question in our topic about intelligences, Roshiley Tilistyak raised the question about finances and its contribution to intelligence.  She mentioned that those who grew up in stable environment achieved better at school and those who grew up in slum area, not well-fed has lower intelligence and achieved less in their school and life. Others respond to the post that financial status does affect intelligence. This scenario is not always correct because some people who are in slum area use their financial status as a motivation to improve in their life and so they study well. These are few examples that intelligence can be nurtured.

I can say then that intelligence can be both nature and nurtured. Intelligence can be inherited from the family and it can be nurtured by environmental factors.

nurturedn intelligence

 Intelligence comes from learning. For learning to occur, each student have learning strategies. Growing up and studying, I’m not really a student who excels academically with high grades. I would say that I am a middle student but there are times that I also get good grades. The strategy of learning that I do when I was in elementary was memorizing. And before the exam, I would review with my friend by answering questions from each other. My strategy in learning in high school and college is taking down notes. I am not really a book reader so I depend on the lectures of the teacher. Note taking and reviewing helps me better understand the lessons. Now that I’m in an online study, note taking still works for me. While listening to webcasts, I jot down notes and review it again after. The questions which we are required to answer helps me better understand also the lessons. When it comes to reading the modules, I read and take down important notes– it’s like a form of summary of what I am reading.  Reading – writing and reviewing, watching – writing and reviewing – the learning strategies that I use to learn best.

multiple intelligences

According to Howard Gardner, he believes that we have 9 intelligences which can be nurtured or ignored. If these can be nurtured, then from our activities in our course, I am nurturing one which is Linguistic which is the ability to communicate well. One of the requirements of our course is to create blogs about our insights. Though I am reading blogs, I have never written one until I enrolled in UPOU last semester. I have written my first blog last semester and it felt good to actually write. I am hoping that from this activity of our course, I would learn and be able to create good blogs

References:

http://psychology.about.com/od/nindex/g/nature-nurture.htm

http://www.thirteen.org/edonline/concept2class/mi/index.html

http://myportal.upou.edu.ph/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=48997

http://www.assessmentpsychology.com/intelligence.htm

Leave a comment

Filed under Reflections, Insights and Realizations

Leave a Reply

