COGNITIVE THEORIES

brain and computer

Information processing theory assumes that human learning is analogous to computer processing, that is information is received, stored in memory and retrieved as needed. I wish sometimes that my brain is somewhat like a computer, anytime I read or learn something, it will be stored in my mind. And whenever I need the information for my studies I would be able to retrieve it right away. I wish that I were more like a computer that I can retrieve information whether it’s an information that I learned a long time ago or I just have learned in the present. Most of the things that I’ve learned in school are forgotten. And many times I encounter tip of the tongue experience wherein I know the answer but cannot remember the words.

classroom

My remotest childhood memory

My remotest childhood memory was when I was watching children go to their kindergarten classroom. I wasn’t able to enroll that year because I still didn’t want to go to school. I enjoy playing than entering school. It’s actually while I am writing this that I remembered why I didn’t attend kindergarten. I thought that the reason was we just moved in that place. Maybe that’s one of the reasons. Since I didn’t attend kindergarten and I was already 7 years old, my first school experience is Grade 1. From our study materials, it was mentioned that Episodic Memory is defined as a category of long-term memory that involves the recollection of specific events and an example of it is first day of school. The odd thing is that I don’t remember anything about my first day of school. I don’t remember who my teacher was and what our classroom look like. I only remember what our school look like.

Long term memory is indeed also susceptible to the forgetting process.

The following are major reasons why we forget information (by Elizabeth Loftus) which might explain why I forgot about it.

  1.   Retrieval failure – the information is not retrieved and rehearsed
  2.  Interferance –some memories compete and interfere with other memories
  3.  Failure to store – it never made it into long-term memory.
  4. Motivated forgetting – actively forgetting memories like traumatic experiences.

 

References:

 http://psychology.about.com/od/eindex/g/episodic-memory.htm

http://psychology.about.com/od/cognitivepsychology/tp/explanations-for-forgetting.htm

Santrock, (2001). Educational Psychology

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Reflections, Insights and Realizations

Leave a Reply

